Three New Faces Set For Dala 7s Debut

Kenya sevens international Horace Owiti has been recalled to Mwamba RFC sevens team set to take part in Dala Sevens at ASK Showground in Kisumu this weekend.

Horace is among four changes made by the technical bench to the squad that finished an impressive third at last weekend’s Christie Sevens hosted by Kenya Harlequin RFC at RFUEA Grounds. Injury has forced Michael Agevi, Martin Wanjia, Victor Wayodi and Louis Kisia out of this weekend’s action.

The other three call ups are debutants with Ben Odhiambo, who was a Non Travelling Player last weekend, finally getting his chance to run out for Kulabu in the shorter version of the game. Others are former Mean Machine RFC centre Bobby Ochieng and turbo-feet Mike Okima.

Head coach Johhny Mbai expressed his optimism that the debutants will step up and compete with the best in the country. “Definitely losing impressive Wanjia, Agevi and Wayodi is a big blow to us but I know that the young lads will be able to compete and contest with the country’s top dogs,” he told MwambaRugby.Com.

He also revealed a tactical change that the new call ups have necessistated. “Shaban was played on the wing last weekend but he’s a natural half back. So bringing in speedstars like Mike in the mix will free him from flyer role and make him concentrate on the half back duties,” he added.

Dan Sikuta will continue with the arm band and will be assisted by Kevin Atandi. Joseph Oriwo, Edwin Machanje and Horace Alila will again be tasked with leading Kulabu’s point hunt in the lakeside city. Others are Brian Kivasia, Freddie Nyachio and Shaban Ahmed.

The team will fly to Kisumu later this evening.

Full Squad to Dala 7s:

  1. Dan Sikuta (Captain)
  2. Joseph Oriwo
  3. Edwin Machanje
  4. Horace Alila
  5. Horace OWiti
  6. Bobby Ochieng
  7. Kevin Atandi (V/Captain)
  8. Shaban Ahmed
  9. Mike Okima
  10. Freddie Nyachio
  11. Brian Kivasia
  12. Ben Odhiambo


  1. Johnny Mbai- Head Coach
  2. Humprey Kayange – Assistant Coach
  3. Edwin Waita – Team Manager
  4. Stella Mwende- Physiotherapist
  5. Dr James Ondiege- Team Doctor