DRIFTWOOD 7s: Mwamba Drawn With Nakuru And Kabras

Mwamba RFC have been drawn in a competitive pool featuring Dala Sevens winner Nakuru RFC, bowl winners Kabras RFC and new comers Comras RFC for the National Sevens Series third round, the Driftwood Sevens set for 22nd/23rd August in Mombasa.


With its traditional Mombasa Sport Club venue unavailable, the tournament will be hosted at the adjacent Mbaraki Sports Club with the second division matches tentatively taking place at the Aga Khan High School. This is however subject to confirmation from the hosts Mombasa RFC.

Series leaders Kenya Harlequin will play out of Pool B where they are grouped with Total Nondies, Western Bulls and Catholic Monks who won the Division 2 title in Kisumu.

Pan Africa Strathmore Leos, third at the Dala Sevens, headline Pool C which features defending Drifwood champions Homeboyz, Blak Blad and the gritty Kisii RFC.

Resolution Impala Saracens headline Pool D with KCB, Daystar and Kisumu RFC.

KCA and NAFTAG Sharks made a quick return to the lower tier competition after finishing in the last two positions at the Dala Sevens Division 1 competition.

KCA are in Pool E with Stormers, hosts Mombasa RFC and Eastlanders while Sharks are in Pool F with their town rivals Bungoma RFC, MKU Thika and Brumbies.

Driftwood 7s Pools
Pool A: Top Fry Nakuru, Mwamba, Kabras Sugar, Comras
Pool B: Kenya Harlequin, Total Nondies, Western Bulls, Catholic Monks
Pool C: Pan Africa Strathmore Leos, Menengai Cream Homeboyz, Blak Blad, Kisii
Pool D: Resolution Impala Saracens,KCB, Daystar Falcons, Kisii RFC

Pool E: KCA, Stormers, Mombasa RFC, Eastlanders
Pool F: NAFTAG Sharks, Bungoma RFC, MKU Thika, Kilifi Sharks
Pool G: Egerton Wasps, MKU Nairobi, Brumbies, Dedan Kimathi
Pool H: Masaku, Masinde MUliro, South Coast Pirates. Taita Taveta
Pool I: JKUAT, TUK,Malindi, TUM
Pool J: Mean Machine, Makueni, Shepherds, Coast Raiders