Michael Agevi Named In UR7s Barbarians

Mwamba RFC’s Michael Agevi has been named in a strong UR7s Barbarians squad for the upcoming Independence 7s in Nigeria.

The tournament is in it’s 7th year and is a celebration of Nigerian Independence held in Lagos on October 9th-10th 2015.

The Independence 7s features teams from all over the world including Western Province who will be flying to Lagos after the Safari Sevens. Alongside the men from South Africa will be a number of sides from the UK and the top Nigerian club sides and National Team.
The UR7s Barbarians will be coached by UR7s Academy Director, Tom Burwell who spoke of his excitement about the squad
“I am really pleased with both the balance of the squad and the firepower. To include Marko and Younes from France who both recently played in the World Club 7s along some of the standout players in Kenya is great”
“The likes of Davis Chenge, Michael Agevi, Max Theuri, Fabian Olando and Cyprian Kuto have experience in the Kenya 7s national team and Kenny Andola is also a former VC of the Kenya XVs squad”

UR7s Africa is currently touring through Kenya and Burwell said the Barbarians team is a vital part of the overall program.

“We have always said we “Everything 7s” and that goes from our Legacy Program in schools and clubs, to the tour working in division two sides and universities through to now take a performance squad to an African tournament”
“We want boys to aspire to play for the Barbarians throughout Kenya and this is our first tour and we are really excited”
“The tournament is going to be of a high standard with most of the sides having played together a lot more than us especially Western Province who play in the Safari Sevens but we want to show our very best in Lagos and represent UR7s, Kenyan and French rugby”
UR7s Barbarians Squad for Independence 7s, Nigeria

1. Darwin Mukidza

2. Michael Agevi (Kenya 7s)

3. Maxwell Theuri (Kenya 7s)

4. Brian Omondi

5. Kenny Andola

6. Joseph Mawira

7. Davis Chenge (Kenya 7s)

8. Cyprian Kuto (Kenya 7s)

9. Fabian Olando (Kenya 7s)

10. Arthur Owira

11. Younes Hou (France Development)

12. Marko Gvozdenovic (Stade Francais, France Development)

13. Thomas Burwell (Coach)

14. Jean Jacque Rous (Team Manager)