Stanbic Bank are the 2018 sevens circuit title sponsors

Stanbic Bank Kenya has today announced a Ksh 9m partnership with the Kenya Rugby Union for the 2018 National Sevens Circuit which kicks off on Saturday 21 July with the first leg in Nakuru.

Speaking during the press briefing to officially unveil the partnership, Stanbic Bank CEO Charles Mudiwa said, “Today we’re delighted to gather here to celebrate a sport that has put Kenya on the global map and has earned us huge fame and admiration from the rest of the world. Our continued investment is tied to a noble ambition to build rugby from the grassroots level of the game and encouraging even more people to watch and play the sport.”

“Today, we move this relationship with rugby to the next level with sponsorship of the Kenya National Sevens circuit. This sponsorship is valued at Ksh. 9 million and will be renewable,” he added.

Kenya Rugby Union Chairman Richard Omwela thanked Stanbic Bank for their continued commitment and support to the Union and the game and said, ” The value of the sponsorship is Ksh 9m and will be channeled to the six host clubs on the National Sevens Circuit who will each receive Ksh 1m. It will also aid the Union’s administrative costs during the duration of the circuit.”

The circuit, played every year since 1999 and now entering its 20th edition will as a result of this sponsorship be referred to as the Stanbic Bank National Sevens Circuit. It is an annual series of rugby sevens tournaments run by the Kenya Rugby Union in conjunction with host clubs featuring teams from across the country. Teams compete for the National Sevens Circuit title by accumulating points based on their finishing position in each tournament. The season’s circuit currently comprises 6 tournaments in 6 cities and towns across Kenya.

Stanbic Bank National Sevens Circuit Venues & Dates

Nakuru: Prinsloo Sevens: 21st /22nd July – Nakuru Athletic Club

Eldoret: Sepetuka Sevens: 28th/29th July – Eldoret Sports Club

Machakos: Kabeberi Sevens: 18th/19th August – Kenyatta Stadium

Mombasa: Driftwood Sevens: 25th/26th August – Mombasa Sports Club

Kisumu: Dala Sevens: 8th/9th September – Mamboleo Showground

Nairobi: Christie Sevens: 15th/16th September – RFUEA Ground


Kabeberi Sevens

More information on Kabeberi 7s event, vending and branding opportunities call Anthony Karanja on +254 725 306416 or email at;
You can also contact Enoch Kyalo or call 0727781154
Or Facebook event page: George Mwangi Kababeri Sevens
Follow updates on Facebook at Mwamba Rugby Club and Kabeberi 7s.
Instagram: @Mwamba_Rugby
Twitter: @MwambaRFC
YouTube: Mwamba TV