Stanbic Mwamba duo make Kenya U20 shortlist

Reigning Stanbic Mwamba Young Player of the Year Martin Oyugi and lock Charles Wangwe have been shortlisted in the Kenya Under 20 training squad preparing for Africa Under 20(Barthes Cup) set for Nairobi in April.

Oyugi and Wangwe get the nod from head coach Paul Odera who has been taking the lads through the paces three times a week since January this year. The team will have the final camp between March 30 to April 1 after which they will name the final 25 who will participate in the Barthes Cup.

“The preparation is going on well. Best thing about this season is that despite starting late the quality of players is one to admire the momentum is building.

Through the training sessions, We’ve seen that there are players who are able to deal with the pressure of playing at international rugby level and they’ve also learnt a lot about themselves. We have around 10 players returning from last year’s championship which is good experience and a big boost for our preparations having come close to beating Namibia last year.

It will be important to have a conversation with each individual player so that they can see where they are and where we can move them forward from here before the tournament,” team manager Jimmy Mnene told

The tournament will be held  from April 4 when Namibia will face Senegal at 2:00pm followed by the Tunisia vs Kenya match at 4:00pm on the same day. Sunday April 7, will host finals; the two losers will face each other at 2:00pm in the third and fourth match which will curtain raise Barthes Cup Division 1A final between the two winners at 4:00pm.

The eventual winner will represent Africa in the Junior World Rugby Trophy Championships later in the year. Tickets are available at for 300/- per day.


Tatu City Nondies – Ian Njenga, Brian Amaitsa, Kenya Harlequins – Steve Biko, Bonface Ochieng, James Mcgreevy, Douglas Kahuri, Northern Suburbs – Wilfred Waswa, USIU Africa – Jeff Kiragu, Kelvin Munene, Blakblad – Collins Obure, Sheldon Kahi, Resolution Impala Saracens – Ian Masheti, Frank Aduda, Menengai Oilers  – Edward Mwaura, Ibrahim Ayoo, Beldad Ogeta, Menengai Cream Homeboyz – Emmanuel Silungi, Johnstone Olindi, Kelvin Agwambo, Stanbic Mwamba – Martin Oyugi, Charles Wangwe, Laiser Hill Academy – Samuel Osongo, Alspencer Owade, KCB – Samuel Asati, Stephen Osumba, George Maranga, Geoffrey Okwach, Top Fry Nakuru – Lorence Ishuga, John Okoth, Strathmore Leos – Andrew Matoka,

University of Pretoria – Jeff Mutuku, Merchiston Castle School, UK – Ashley Owain, George Kiryazi, Marlborough College, UK – Dominic Coulson, Millfield School, UK – Rotuk Rahedi, Sharks Academy – Andrew Siminyu

Liaison – Mweti Muriithi

Additional material from