Telkom sponsors the 2018 National Sevens Circuit

Telkom has become the official telecommunications partner for the ongoing twentieth edition of the National Sevens Circuit Series.


The sponsorship deal valued at Sh.4.2m will go towards planning of the acclaimed rugby circuit that comprises of six legs; Prinsloo Sevens, Sepetuka Sevens, Kabeberi Sevens, Driftwood Sevens, Dala Sevens and the Christies Sevens at the tail end of September.


This new partnership is a continuation of Telkom’s long-term support for sport, notably Hockey and Athletics in the last 20 years, and is a natural fit for the telco, reflecting its strong heritage, enduring growth and international presence.


Speaking at the official announcement of the deal at the Telkom Plaza, Kenya Harlequins chairman Mike Lucas on behalf of the six host clubs, reiterated the pivotal role of corporate sponsorship in growing sevens rugby locally and internationally.


“We are excited by the entrance of Telkom as a sponsor for this year’s National Sevens Rugby circuit. With corporate sponsorships like Telkom’s guaranteeing the game’s growth, the potential to dominate the sport on a global stage in the near future is realistic,” said Mr. Lucas.


Telkom CEO Aldo Mareuse said the sponsorship will act as a launch pad for long term partnership with rugby.


“We are confident that we will see demonstrable value in the circuit to grow our investment in the game. We are cognizant of the importance of corporate sponsorship and involvement to Kenyan sport. We have seen first-hand with our other sponsorships, what sports packages, when utilized well can do to the economy,” said Mr. Mareuse.


The telco aims to replicate its’ success, backing continental hockey heavyweights Telkom Ladies Hockey team and world-beating javelin thrower Julius Yego.


The national Seven’s Circuit is an annual series run by KRU, a host of Kenyan clubs and universities across the country. The teams compete by accumulating points on each leg with the overall winner on points declared champions. The tournament has grown in stature since its inception in 2006 and still has room to grow with the recent addition of regional teams including Kabras, Western Bulls and a host of universities.

Kabeberi Sevens

The George Mwangi Kabeberi Memorial Sevens, popularly known as the Kabeberi Sevens, was first played in 1986 to commemorate the passing away of the charismatic George Mwangi Kabeberi, one of the founding members of the Mwamba club.

Over the years, the significance of the tournament has been expanded to honour departed club members, including recently departed Leeroy Okara, Absalom “Bimbo” Mutere, Abedeen Shikoyi, and Jimmy Owino and lately Victor Wayodi among others.

The 2018 edition of the Kabeberi Sevens is scheduled to be played  on August 17-19 at Kenyatta Stadium, Machakos.

More information on Kabeberi 7s event, vending and branding opportunities call Anthony Karanja on +254 725 306416 or email him at

Or Facebook event page: George Mwangi Kababeri Sevens

Follow updates on Facebook at Mwamba Rugby Club and Kabeberi 7s.

Instagram: @Mwamba_Rugby

Twitter: @MwambaRFC

YouTube:  Mwamba TV